High School State Champion "Bull City Lights" from Voyager Academy

NCASA presented the State Finals of the 2023 Metrographics Printing North Carolina Middle School Show Choir Competition on April 22 at William A Hough High School.


Jay M Robinson Middle School and Voyager Academy were crowned state champions!


Final rankings are shown below.

1 - Voyager Academy - Bull City Lights of Durham with a rating of Superior

2 - William A Hough High School of Cornelius- Superior

3 - Lake Norman High School - Excellent

4 - South Granville High School - Chord on Blues - Good

5 - South Granville High School - Shades of Blue

 Performing an exhibition was Red Springs High School.

Director's Award - Jonah Ravi of Voyager Academy

Best Male Solo - James Randolph of Lake Norman HS (2 time award winner)

Best Female Solo - Claire Roberts of William A Hough HS

Best Male Stage Presence - Cooper Beecham of Lake Norman HS (2 time award winner)

Best Female Stage Presence - Zahria Patterson-Nwaorgu of William A Hough HS

Best New Choir - South Granville HS - Chord on Blues

Best Combo - Voyager Academy

Best Show Design - Voyager Academy

Best Choreography - Voyager Academy

Best Group Vocals - Voyager Academy

Bull City Lights performed songs including "Dream On" and "Come Alive"

All State Performers: Individuals recognized above plus 

Gabriela Gomez, Raquel Alston, Arianna Dickey, and Larah Preddy of South Granville HS

Haegan Bryant and Bailey Clark of Voyager Academy

Madeline Macry of Lake Norman HS

John Harris, Whittier Henry, and Trey Purvis of William A Hough High School


 Shown below are the rankings of middle schools.

1 - Jay M Robinson MS of Charlotte with a rating of Superior

2 - Seventy-First Classical MS of Fayetteville - Excellent

3 - Mount Airy Middle School - Excellent

4 - Western Harnett Middle School 

Jay M Robinson performed a medley from "Alladin".

Director's Award - Lindsay Byrd of Western Harnett MS

Best Male Solo - Bassel Kanaan of Jay M Robinson MS

Best Female Solo - Trinity Griffin of Mount Airy MS

Best Male Stage Presence - Michael Dunne of Jay M Robinson MS

Best Female Stage Presence - Ava Kinlaw of Seventy-First Classical MS

Best New Choir - Seventy-First Classical MS

Best Show Design - Jay M Robinson MS

Best Choreography - Jay M Robinson MS

Best Group Vocals - Jay M Robinson MS

All State Performers: individuals recognized above plus

Cameron Barrier of Mount Airy MS

Jazmyne Loiseau, Johnathan Morrisey, and Enoch Rogers of Seventy-First Classical MS

Alven Shen of Jay M Robinson MS

Mai'ana Semides and Cenessa Gray of Western Harnett MS

We thank sponsors Metrographics Printing and UNC Greensboro College of Visual and Performing Arts for their support of the competition.